Sinclair Lewis - It Can't Happen Here (Audiobook)

Sinclair Lewis - It Can't Happen Here (Audiobook)

Sinclair Lewis - It Can't Happen Here (Audiobook)
English | MP3 | Audiobook | 399 MB

First published in 1935, when Americans were still largely oblivious to the rise of Hitler in Europe, this prescient novel tells a cautionary tale about the fragility of democracy and offers an alarming, eerily timeless look at how fascism could take hold in America. Doremus Jessup, a newspaper editor, is dismayed to find that many of the people he knows support presidential candidate Berzelius Windrip. The suspiciously fascist Windrip is offering to save the nation from sex, crime, welfare cheats, and a liberal press. But after Windrip wins the election, dissent soon becomes dangerous for Jessup. Windrip forcibly gains control of Congress and the Supreme Court and, with the aid of his personal paramilitary storm troopers, turns the United States into a totalitarian state.

Rationality From AI to Zombies (Audiobook)

Rationality From AI to Zombies (Audiobook)

Rationality From AI to Zombies (Audiobook)
English | MP3 | Audiobook | 1.34 GB

What does it actually mean to be rational? Not Hollywood-style "rational," where you forsake all human feeling to embrace Cold Hard Logic. Real rationality, of the sort studied by psychologists, social scientists, and mathematicians. The kind of rationality where you make good decisions, even when it's hard; where you reason well, even in the face of massive uncertainty; where you recognize and make full use of your fuzzy intuitions and emotions, rather than trying to discard them.

Shashi Tharoor - An Era of Darkness. The British Empire in India (Unabridged) 2017 (Audiobook)

Shashi Tharoor - An Era of Darkness. The British Empire in India (Unabridged) 2017 (Audiobook)

Shashi Tharoor - An Era of Darkness. The British Empire in India (Unabridged) 2017 (Audiobook)
English | MP3 64Kbps | Audiobook | 343 MB

In 1930, the American historian and philosopher Will Durant wrote that Britain’s ‘conscious and deliberate bleeding of India… [was the] greatest crime in all history’. He was not the only one to denounce the rapacity and cruelty of British rule, and his assessment was not exaggerated. Almost thirty-five million Indians died because of acts of commission and omission by the British—in famines, epidemics, communal riots and wholesale slaughter like the reprisal killings after the 1857 War of Independence and the Amritsar massacre of 1919. Besides the deaths of Indians, British rule impoverished India in a manner that beggars belief. When the East India Company took control of the country, in the chaos that ensued after the collapse of the Mughal empire, India’s share of world GDP was 23 per cent. When the British left it was just above 3 per cent. The British empire in India began with the East India Company, incorporated in 1600, by royal charter of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth I, to trade in silk, spices and other profitable Indian commodities. Within a century and a half, the Company had become a power to reckon with in India. In 1757, under the command of Robert Clive, Company forces defeated the ruling Nawab Siraj-ud-Daula of Bengal at Plassey, through a combination of superior artillery and even more superior chicanery. A few years later, the young and weakened Mughal emperor, Shah Alam II, was browbeaten into issuing an edict that replaced his own revenue officials with the Company’s representatives. Over the next several decades, the East India Company, backed by the British government, extended its control over most of India, ruling with a combination of extortion, double-dealing, and outright corruption backed by violence and superior force. This state of affairs continued until 1857, when large numbers of the Company’s Indian soldiers spearheaded the first major rebellion against colonial rule. After the rebels were defeated, the British Crown took over power and ruled the country ostensibly more benignly until 1947, when India won independence. In this explosive book, bestselling author Shashi Tharoor reveals with acuity, impeccable research, and trademark wit, just how disastrous British rule was for India. Besides examining the many ways in which the colonizers exploited India, ranging from the drain of national resources to Britain, the destruction of the Indian textile, steel-making and shipping industries, and the negative transformation of agriculture, he demolishes the arguments of Western and Indian apologists for Empire on the supposed benefits of British rule, including democracy and political freedom, the rule of law, and the railways. The few unarguable benefits—the English language, tea, and cricket—were never actually intended for the benefit of the colonized but introduced to serve the interests of the colonizers. Brilliantly narrated and passionately argued, An Era of Darkness will serve to correct many misconceptions about one of the most contested periods of Indian history.

Max Allan Collins - The Million-Dollar Wound (Audiobook)

Max Allan Collins - The Million-Dollar Wound (Audiobook)

Max Allan Collins - The Million-Dollar Wound (Audiobook)
English | MP3 | Audiobook | 289 MB

From a foxhole on Guadalcanal (shared with Barney Ross) to the glitzy underworld of Hollywood in the '40s, Nate Heller fights his memories and the Mob.Something happened at the Canal, something Heller's blocking out. What he can't block, though, is the wound he received--the "million-dollar wound," the one that got him home. Back in the States, and back in Chicago, he becomes involved once again with Frank Nitti during the gang boss' last violent days, and with the gangland attempts to take over the movie unions.The homefront is every bit as violent as the war-torn Pacific, and even the solace of Sally Rand can do nothing to ease Heller, who is haunted by the death of a friend in Guadalcanal, and surrounded by the mayhem of gangland murders.

Kathy Reichs - Bones on Ice (Audiobook)

Kathy Reichs - Bones on Ice (Audiobook)

Kathy Reichs - Bones on Ice (Audiobook)
English | MP3 | Audiobook | 96 MB

In Bones on Ice, forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan gets wrapped up in the ultimate cold case: a murder on Mount Everest.

Advice Not Given A Guide to Getting Over Yourself (Audiobook)

Advice Not Given A Guide to Getting Over Yourself (Audiobook)

Advice Not Given A Guide to Getting Over Yourself (Audiobook)
English | MP3 | Audiobook | 171 MB

“Most people will never find a great psychiatrist or a great Buddhist teacher, but Mark Epstein is both, and the wisdom he imparts in Advice Not Given is an act of generosity and compassion. The book is a tonic for the ailments of our time.”—Ann Patchett, New York Times bestselling author of Commonwealth

12 Rules for Life An Antidote to Chaos by Jordan Peterson (Audiobook)

12 Rules for Life An Antidote to Chaos by Jordan Peterson (Audiobook)

12 Rules for Life An Antidote to Chaos by Jordan Peterson (Audiobook)
English | MP3 | Audiobook | 428 MB

Penguin presents the audiobook edition of 12 Rules for Life, written and read by Jordan B. Peterson.

Nicola Upson ~ [Josephine Tey 07] - Nine Lessons (Audiobook)

Nicola Upson ~ [Josephine Tey 07] - Nine Lessons (Audiobook)

Nicola Upson ~ [Josephine Tey 07] - Nine Lessons (Audiobook)
Publisher: Blackstone Audio Inc.
English | 64 Kb | CBR | 22,050 Hz | Joint Stereo | 298 MB

Josephine Tey, a sharp-witted amateur sleuth based on the celebrated Golden Age mystery writer, returns in the seventh in Nicola Upson’s critically acclaimed series, perfect for readers of Agatha Christie and Jacqueline Winspear.

The Thomas and Charlotte Pitt Mystery Series (1~32) - by Anne Perry (Audiobook)

The Thomas and Charlotte Pitt Mystery Series (1~32) - by Anne Perry (Audiobook)

The Thomas and Charlotte Pitt Mystery Series (1~32) - by Anne Perry (Audiobook)
English | 48kbps 44kHz Mono CBR MP3 | Audiobook | 5.92 GB

Few authors have made Victorian London as engaging and lively as Anne Perry has and her rich descrions and charismatic characters have long captivated fans around the world.

Lloyd Shepherd - Savage Magic (Read by Steven Crossley) (2014 W. F. Howes Ltd UK) (Audiobook)

Lloyd Shepherd - Savage Magic (Read by Steven Crossley) (2014 W. F. Howes Ltd UK) (Audiobook)

Lloyd Shepherd - Savage Magic (Read by Steven Crossley) (2014 W. F. Howes Ltd UK) (Audiobook)
English | MP3 | 256 Kbps | CBR | 44,100 Hz | Stereo | 1.4 GB

1814, London's Covent Garden entices rich and poor alike with a cocktail of gin, beer and sex. In the surrounding parishes a group of young men are found murdered, all of them wearing masks, all of them behind locked doors.